Are you a .NET paratrooper?

Maybe its the distinctly military theme that seems to be on the idiot box these days, but I’ve found myself drawing analogies between what I do as a software engineer and the role that our service men and women play in combat.

Now obviously I am not saying that as a developer I put my life on the line day in day out, but COM interop code doesn’t exactly tickle either you know! More than once recently I have been working on complex problems that others had thrown their hands up at. And in most cases I’ve managed to do enough digging and investigation to uncover the problem and where there is no fix to apply, atleast suggest a workaround.

I know I am not the only person that is charged with this responsibility although some people go by a different title like “problem solver” or “the cleaner”. I like the last one, but I think .NET paratrooper is pretty cool too.

Do you spend all day solving seemingly unsolvable problems? Are you a .NET paratrooper?

2 thoughts on “Are you a .NET paratrooper?

  1. Jim Vrckovski

    I think that many programmers can relate to what you are saying here, some more that others I guess.

    Solving (or trying to solve) hard “unsolvable” problems is what makes my coding experience more enjoyable. The thrill and sense of satisfaction that I get from a good or desired result is what its all about.

  2. Mitch Denny

    Hi Jim,

    Hey! Look at that, someone reads my blog! I totally agree, its the unique challenges in a job that make me want to get out of bed.

    Success is like a drug, you once you have tried it you only want more.

Leave a Reply

