Introducing Event Monger

Well, the votes are in and it appears that my “By the Community, For the Community” project is to build an ASP.NET-based event management site – I have decided to call it Event Monger. My objective is to ship this application out on or before the 4th of August which means that I had better get cracking. I’m going to use my blog to document the process of designing and building the application.

What is Event Monger – really?

Event Monger is something that I have wanted to have for a long time as an co-organiser of a technical event like Code Camp Oz. The problem is that all the tools out there to date are really good at content management, but not that great at automating the workflow of an event, including things like:

  • Accepting session submissions
  • Ranking session submissions
  • Scheduling accepted sessions
  • Accepting attendee registrations
  • Sending attendee and speaker notifications
  • Presenting venue information
  • Posting of during-event notices
  • Accepting speaker uploads

In my next post on Event Monger I am going to list out the specific end-user scenarios that are going to be supported and where they sit in the overal workflow of managing an event. I’ll use the scenarios to drive the development forward and keep track of how things are progressing.

7 thoughts on “Introducing Event Monger

  1. Pingback: PeteL's Blog : Life In Redmond: LFR, BTC-FTC, Registry Cleaning and IE7

  2. Kris van der Mast

    Wow, I’m already looking forward to the RTM version of this. I’m already thinking of tweaking it, as far as that would be necessary of course, for sports championships.

    Grz, Kris.

  3. Don Pyers

    Looks like I may be a day late and a dollar short on this but wanted to suggest (if it hasn’t been incorporated already) that sessions be able to have multiple speakers.

    The second item I wanted to raise is that often, the same session information – speakers, content, uploads, etc. is used for multiple events. Very common for training or informational events.

    Finally, I’d like to be able to prefix table names for an event so I can use one db for multiple events rather than separate db’s for each event.

  4. Pingback: notgartner » Blog Archive » Event Monger Delay

  5. Pingback: Life In Redmond: LFR, BTC-FTC, Registry Cleaning and IE7

Leave a Reply

