How does a geek blogger not write geekily?

Is geekily even a word? I was playing around with the new Tag Surfing feature in WordPress when I came across this blog post. It pointed to to Liz Strauss’ blog – “Successful (and Outstanding) Blog(gers)”, in particular this post on “10 Reasons Readers Don’t Leave Comments”.

All of the reasons were pretty good but one of the ones that struck me was number one:

What you write is so complete, that I don’t know what to say except good job.”

And number six:

“Your blog has geeky attitude and I’m not geeky enough to keep up..”

Mea Culpa! Since I’m a _bit_ of a geek I do tend to write geeky stuff, and I’m not sure how I can avoid that. But geeks also like to divide and conquer so they break down the topic and argue it one piece at a time – I know that I deliberately try to write complete posts, maybe I should give up and just let things hang more.

Anyway – I reckon Liz’s blog rocks (subscribed), however, I did wonder if the header image on her blog was to encourage readers to look down!

10 thoughts on “How does a geek blogger not write geekily?

  1. Liz Strauss

    Hi Mitch,
    Great question about my header. No actually I inherited the title of the blog — It’s official name is Successful Blog and I thought that was a bit . . . so I thought I’d invite folks to join in and be part so the more the merrier. If you read the SOB (Successful and Outstanding Bloggers) page you’ll find that it’s about ideas and adding to the dialogue.

    As far as geeky goes I don’t mind geeky talk, I’m married to an IT guy who has our house geeked out so much that I need tools to get through the front door in order to get through the multiple firewalls and I’ll never be able to turn on any of our equipment should our router ever decide to disagree with me.

    Geeky talk is not a problem . . . geeky attitude is that which you find on certain SEO blogs where they speak in code and don’t want to share what they know because, well, then you’d know.

    We’re actually quite open to everyone at Successful Blog. Stop by and prove me wrong on that.

    Thanks for noticing my post and sharing it with your readers. I appreciate that.
    Liz

  2. Rico

    You know, I realized that I was too geeky after I read Liz’s entry. I now try to make my writing more conversational and friendly, since The Parodist has commented I souund uptight.

    Anyways, thanks for liking the link.πŸ™‚

  3. Mitch Denny

    Hi Rico,

    Be geek, be proud! I think the message was (that I didn’t get either) that you should be free with your knowledge. You look like you are doing OKπŸ™‚

  4. Liz Strauss

    Hi Mitch,
    You picked the best page of all. Thank you for reading that post, as you might guess that one took a long time to write and and wanted it to say exactly what I meant.

    Your blog, by the is not too geeky at all. It’s friendly and accessible for us who might want to learn. I bet you’ll be seeing lots of Successful Blog folks around here soon.

    Nice to meet you, Mitch. You and your blog are great finds for sure.

  5. Ross

    As a software developer / contractor, I found the same with my CV.

    Over the course of many years I refined it into a beautiful architected summary / detail style document. It gave the superficial reader a good summary of my skills, as well as carefully constructed details for the more thorough.

    The result, a surprising lack of interest from prospective employers.

    I recently culled it from 14 pages down to 5. It now has virtually no specific information, lots of generalisations and loosely defined skills. In fact, its really hard to tell what I am good at, and not a very useful document.

    The result, a huge amount of interest and lots of offers for interviews.

    Conclusion. A little mystery keeps people interested.

  6. Mitch Denny Post author

    Hi Ross,

    I think it depends on what kind of role that you are going for as well. When we interview we tend to find out pretty quickly where peoples skill levels are at. I won’t say that the resume is worthless, but I will say that we don’t necessarily rely on what is in it. It’s bait, and just depends on what kind of fish you want to catch.

Leave a Reply

