"all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy"

It’s 9:00PM, the work day is well and truly over, my Inbox is empty, I’ve got my headphones on and I’ve got the volume turned way up on ABBA (its my dirty little secret).

Over the last couple of months I have been almost completely focused on one individual client and a number of their projects that Readify is currently delivering on. When I haven’t been actively working on the project I’ve been thinking (or rather stressing) about the project and as a result I’ve had precious little time to do what I love doing which is geeking out, learning lots of new stuff and blogging my brains out. I think the post frequency and quality of my blog posts over the past three months has probably shown this.

Thanks to my team, we’ve managed to get all the projects into a healthy position where we are either in the process of handover or on the glide path to delivery (although one has several iterations left until final delivery). So what does this mean to me?

Well – it means that I can look up and smell the roses, I can contemplate working remotely a little more often which means spending more time in Canberra with Nicola and Bella, although I am still going to be active in this project well into next year. One of the things that has made this

Some things that I am looking forward to doing over the coming months:

  • Completing some side projects which I have neglected badly.
  • Blogging about the stuff I read and what is on my mind a whole heck of a lot more (I think the fact that not using this blog as a venting mechanism has made me unhealthily argumentative).
  • Refocusing on technology a little bit, its like going back to my roots without the pressure of having a project to use it on.

Anyway – let the fun commence!

Aside: The phrase “all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy” will be familiar to those who watched the movie “The Shining”, although I’ve never watched it. Through “The Phrase Finder” I’ve discovered that:

The sentiment expressed by this proverb was first recorded thousands of years ago by the Egyptian sage Ptahhoptep, who wrote in c. 2400 B.C., ‘One that reckoneth accounts all the day passeth not a happy moment. One that gladdeneth his heart all the day provideth not for his house. The bowman hitteth the mark, as the steersman reacheth land, by diversity of aim.’ The more familiar modern saying appeared first in James Howell’s ‘Proverbs in English, Italian, French and Spanish’ (1659), and was included in later collections of proverbs. Some writers have added a second part to the proverb, as in ‘Harry and Lucy Concluded’ (1825) by the Irish novelist Maria Edgeworth: ‘All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy/ All play and no work makes Jack a mere toy’.” From “Wise Words and Wives’ Tales: The Origins, Meanings and Time-Honored Wisdom of Proverbs and Folk Sayings Olde and New” by Stuart Flexner and Doris Flexner (Avon Books, New York, 1993).

Source: ESC on The Phrase Finder

One thought on “"all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy"

  1. Pingback: hydrocodone

Leave a Reply

