Outlook slaves are the happiest slaves in the world.

I’ve been using Outlook for a long time, in fact, I was using Outlook back when it was Microsoft Mail and Schedule+. Before then I had a brief flirtation with Eudora, and spent some quality time with PINE (and before time began I could be found lurking on FidoNet).

Just prior to 2000 I used Netscape Mail for a little while when I decided to abandon the capitalist shackles of Microsoft Windows and run RedHat Linux (which turned out to be just another set of capitalist shackles).

When I read Jordana’s post on her changing over to using Office 2007 it made me ponder why more people don’t use Outlook at home. Obviously cost is a factor, Outlook isn’t free, but I wonder if there is more to it than that – does your e-mail address (e.g. @gmail.com or @hotmail.com) have a huge bearing on which mail client you use?

I’ve got lots of e-mail addresses, but the two that I use the most are my @notgartner.com and my @readify.net one, and I read both of them using Outlook (2007 actually). I’ve become so proficient at processing e-mail with Outlook that moving to something else would be a real struggle – I’m a slave to the relative productivity of an Outlook-enabled e-mail environment.

Actually – as an interesting statistic, since last completely flushing my mail store, I’ve sent 17,485 e-mails🙂

6 thoughts on “Outlook slaves are the happiest slaves in the world.

  1. Jordana

    I used to use outlook 97 but then changed to an @gmail email address. Found the gmail interface quite user friendly and stuck with it. Now that I can use Outlook 2007 I’ve found that to be very user friendly again and suitable to my purposes. I’m also not using more than one computer anymore so it makes portability of mail not as big an issue.

  2. Brian

    The biggest problem for me has been that Outlook is poor when dealing with IMAP. In fact Outlook Express and Windows Mail trump it in terms of IMAP handling. IMAP is probably too close to the Outlook/Exchange experience for Microsoft to be interested in developing it further.

  3. Mitch Denny

    Hi Brian,

    Could be, although IMAP as a protocol has been pretty static for years. Its easy to innovate around a static protocol. If they did IMAP v5 on the other hand . . .

Leave a Reply

