What if we had Trove for Team Foundation Server?

One of the hard limits that people have identified in Team Foundation Server is one on the number of Team Projects that can be created. This is really a fundamental architectural issue which I hope that Microsoft addresses in a future release. If I was looking at this challenge I would be wondering how I could remove this limitation whilst still adding great new functionality.

An idea that I had was around providing some of categorisation facility so that rather than the project list containing a complete list of projects, it just gave you a search form. I could see this kind of facility becoming a valuable asset within a development organisation because the categorisation (like everything in Team Foundation Server) could be made extensible.

I can imagine a time when your corporate TFS installation has something akin to a software map – ala SourceForge and Trove.

Leave a Reply

