Broadbandless . . .

I can’t have:

  • ADSL/ADSL2 from any provider that uses Telstra equipment, they are refusing to connect it because the line is too crappy.
  • Satellite (1-way or 2-way) because with my usage patterns it would cost a fortune – even just my e-mail usage would probably cost me a fortune.
  • Mobile broadband because the signal isn’t strong enough to be any faster than dial-up.

I probaby can’t have:

  • TransWEB from TransACT because I’m lead to believe that they stop their service two houses up from ours.

I’m left with:

  • 33.6Kbps dial-up which struggles to even sync my Inbox.

I’m feeling:

  • Just a little pissed off.

18 thoughts on “Broadbandless . . .

  1. Bill McCarthy

    Ouch !! Know that feeling😦

    Of course there is the minimal service requirements for Telstra, so you could *demand* ISDN from them as that is the minimum I believe (128 kps). I had ISDN for a while and it’s not too bad for general stuff (streaming video and downloads of course suck at that speed).
    But here’s the possible silver lining. For them ot give you ISDN they’ll have to condition the line to such an extent that usually if your exchange is ADSL enabled you’ll be suitable for ADSL Just you can’t *demand* ADSL, but you can *demand* ISDN😉

    DISCLAIMER: I, the person who posted this, hereby denies posting this;)

  2. murls

    How well do you get on with the surrounding neighbours? Might be time to throw a party and try to build some BRIDGES to enhance the local network…all the way to your house 🙂

  3. Mitch Denny Post author

    Hi Bill – thanks, that is great advice! I’ll start doing some digging, I think I am close enough to the exchange, so the ISDN trick might do the job.

  4. Mitch Denny Post author

    Joseph – I like the way you think. Unforunate our area is mostly rock so I might need to hang the cable.

  5. Mitch Wheat

    I can empathise Mitch! I’ve been on 28.8K since I moved to a new house back in March this year. It’s painful at best. Getting Cable soon…provided Telstra don’t tell me the house can’t be connected to Cable again (it already is, and previous owner had it!)

  6. Calrion

    Mitch,

    Take a look at this Whirlpool thread, there’s a lot of info there about the difference in line testing (or guesstimation) for Telstra Wholesale ADSL and ADSL2+ via Spectrum Sharing Service: http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=620296.

    Something else you might want to try–it’s a bit desperate, but hey–is a point-to-point wireless link (using 802.11) to somewhere that can get broadband. (i.e. if you’ve a mate down the road with TransACT, rig a 802.11a connection, and you have broadband!)

  7. Andrew Parsons

    Mitch, I had the same problem a couple of years ago – moved to a new house and couldn’t get anything except flaky 33.6. After a year of this and me trying everything I could think of, I was about ready to sign up for the $450/month Satellite, and literally the day before my brother-in-law called me and told me that we could now get ADSL (he lived one street away from me).

    After that everything was golden.🙂

    Thoughts:
    1. Bill’s right – you can demand IDSN and they must supply it. If that means they have to upgrade the line, that’s tough for them, not you.
    2. You get different answers about quality from Telstra as you do all the third parties. Have you tried applying to Telstra direct?
    3. Is the line quality due to your distance from the exchange or for other reasons like hardware getting in the way? Knowing WHY you can’t get it can help in making it happen, or help you be patient if something is going to change in the near-ish future.

  8. Mitch Denny Post author

    Hi Andrew,

    I’ve put my order in for ISDN. I ended up speaking directly to Telstra and my impression (although not conclusive) is that we are close enough, but the line quality isn’t good enough. They don’t like saying that though – distance is a much better excuse🙂

  9. Pingback: My cunning plan to get broadband. « notgartner

  10. Pingback: My Telstra Story « Telstra Watch

Leave a Reply

