Why wasn’t PowerShell released for Windows Vista?

I don’t know, I’m asking. We all got the news that PowerShell had RTM’d which saw me jump and kick my heals together. For those of you who know me, you know what a site that would have been.

PowerShell is a significant technology for me because it is my preferred mechanism for bashing together quick scripts to do things that I might normally have done in Visual Studio 205 as a C# program. A good example is walking the Windows Vista RSS feed store to do things like remove import artefacts.

https://notgartner.files.wordpress.com/2006/11/why_wasnt_powershell_released_for_windows_vista/image002.png

Unfortunately there is no build that officially works with Windows Vista RTM now until sometime next year (that is the rumour anyway). The problem is that people like me have come to rely on PowerShell for automation tasks and I’ve even got software that I would like to integrate with it, but still debug it on Windows Vista.

My next step is seeing if I can somehow force the installer to work.

I should be able to get this to work since PowerShell used to  run on Windows Vista when it was part of the Windows SDK.

One of my concerns about the disconnect between the release dates is that the binaries might get some revisions to better work with Vista and then we could have two versions of PowerShell out there to contend with. Hopefully not – I will need to do some investigation.

6 thoughts on “Why wasn’t PowerShell released for Windows Vista?

  1. scottgu

    I believe there is an update to run on Vista coming out in a few weeks.

    Note that Vista isn’t available yet broadly (companies can’t buy it yet, and it isn’t in stores until January). MSDN subscribers can download Vista today – but everyone else is still waiting, which is why some teams are still finishing up their Vista test passes now (it takes awhile to-do full test passes on new operating systems).

    Hope this helps,

    Scott

  2. mabster

    Let’s see … using my FeedStoreProvider:

    cd feed:
    dir -rec | where {$_.Type -eq “Feed” -and $_.Name.EndsWith(” (1)”)} | % {$_.Rename($_.Name.SubString(0, $_.Name.Length – 4))}

    That should do it for you Mitch!🙂

  3. Scott Ottaway [MSFT]

    Hi,

    There has been a lot of confusion about the availability of Windows PowerShell 1.0 for Windows Vista RTM. The PowerShell team was not able to start testing PowerShell 1.0 for Vista RTM until Vista RTM’d. It basically has to do with the new Component Based Setup technology which is different from the installer on XP and Windows Server 2003. The team is working hard on it and if possible 1.0 for Vista RTM will be released earlier but our current target date is Jan 31, 2007. Please see the blog posts on blogs.msdn.com/powershell to stay up to date.

    Thanks again for supporting PowerShell,
    Scott Ottaway [ MSFT]

Leave a Reply

