132 replaces 42 as the meaning of life, the universe and everything.

I wonder if FrankArr has picked up on this little bit of trivia. Tonight at midnight, in one hour and forty two minutes Foxtel in Australia will be launching their local SciFi Channel. This is the single event that I hoped would happen ever since I subscribed to Foxtel on cable back in 1998.

You can download the program guide for the SciFi channel in PDF format, and for those of you who need to be able to flick to the SciFi as soon as they walk in the door – the channel designation is 132. Since watching the SciFi channel is going to take up so much of my life I thought it would be fun to divide the number 132 by 42 – guess what, the result is π (Pi), or at least as close as you can get to it when all you can deal with is whole numbers.

Is this a coincidence? I don’t think so, I think that there is a geek hiding somewhere in Foxtel which has “made it so” – and I think that this bodes well for the SciFi channel here in Australia.

9 thoughts on “132 replaces 42 as the meaning of life, the universe and everything.

  1. Eddie de Bear

    Excellent, I’ve been waiting for this for some time as well… Unfortunately the only other channel I really liked was Fox Footy.. The channel that foxtel switched of 2 months ago😦

  2. Kieran Jacobsen

    I got up this morning, went out side and raced over to my TV…oh no! the foxtel is down….no scifi for me.

    IT appears there is something wrong with the signal, don’t do this to me Foxtel!

  3. NickA

    I missed the launch as I was out of the house😦 Was there a big introduction and such? When I got to it it was 12:25 and Star Trek had already started…

  4. AJW

    everything can mean something if you’re looking for it – don’t be taken in by specious ideas

Leave a Reply

