Review: The SanDisk Sanso e260

It was Nicola’s birthday today and Bella and I got her a SanDisk Sansa e260 MP3 player. We did a little bit of shopping around for it and found the best deal at The Good Guys. I set it up last night so that it would be ready to go this morning and I have to say that I am impressed by this little number.

The device itself has 4GB capacity but also supports suplimenting that capacity with micro-SD cards. It has a 1.8inch screen which can be used for viewing photos, watching movies or just navigating around the various menus of the device. It sports a menu button, four directional buttons as well as a wheel pad similar to what you find on a Nano – with a shiny black cover it really looks the business.

The nice thing about buying one of these instead of say an iPod [whatever] is that you can using Windows Media Player and not have to convert your entire media collection to an alternative format. Having said that, if you do have a large media collection just make sure that you go for the manual sync option unless you have really put the effort into rating all your media – I originally selected automatic and my wife’s machine started syncing up The Wiggles since that is what gets most airplay on the computer itself.

If you want to know more about the e260 you can check out this Engadget review, or this video up on YouTube. I’m thinking that I might buy one for myself for listening to podcasts.

6 thoughts on “Review: The SanDisk Sanso e260

  1. Martin Woodward

    I am also a fan of the SanDisk Sanso players. I’ve just bought one for my Brother for Christmas (don’t tell him🙂 )

    Anyway, it’s great and I am seriously thinking of getting myself one to replace my aging iPod Mini. I love the fact that it *just works* and you don’t need to use the awful iTunes software. In fact you don’t need to use any software, you can simply drag-drop from Explorer. However Windows Media Player can managing Syncing for you and seems pretty powerful. I am personally quite a fan of Windows Media Player and I’ve also been thinking about signing up for one of the music subscription packages that are Plays for Sure compatible. The fact that the player has much more features than the Nano, is significantly cheaper and is easier to get working is very attractive.

    The only think that puts me off if that the menu navigation is not quite as logical (to me) as the iPod menu system. Also the jog wheel is a little cheap feeling.

    Despite that it is the first player to tempt me away from the Apple store…

  2. thomas allcorn

    my nanny bought me the sandisk Sansa i Singapore it is grest but i have lost the charcher that plugs in to the pc ,modle e250
    HELP Tom

  3. kate corbett

    i received your scandisc for christmas 2008.all of a sudden,while i was in san fransisco it went from my recorded songs to a strange radio station. i am now back in florida and its stuck on a radio station. the lights on the dial stopped working. it was purchased from circuit city in orlando. i did go to radio shack in california and the young fellow was quite puzzled. what should i do? kathy corbett 118 east 8th st chuluota fl 32766 407-366-6564 corfitz1@aol.com

  4. bob recla

    bought a scan disk about 2 yrs sanso(20gb) bought a new puter a hp 2009m with windows 7 and vista. cannot download to the sanso. could you send me a how to download to the new puter. could you possibly send via e mail. love my sanso great pleasure listening to. appreciate the sending of instructions. bob recla 920-766-3780 e mail bogibob@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

