telstrawatch.com, one of my new pet projects.

Hopefully the URL is working for everyone. Tonight after lamenting my lack of broadband once again I decided to launch telstrawatch.com. The idea behind this site is to serve as a public space for people to comment on Telstra, both good and bad (and there are both good and bad stories out there). I started off by posting my most recent Telstra story.

This is actually a bit of a double experiment because until now I have believed that I best served my audience and own selfish blogging interests by maintaining a single blog – maybe this will prove me wrong?

If you have a Telstra story I would love to hear it, either link the my story post over at Telstra Watch or leave a note in the comments. If it is interesting I might invite you to put up a more detailed post on the blog itself.

4 thoughts on “telstrawatch.com, one of my new pet projects.

  1. Alistair

    When having ADSL installed in Toowoomba (South East Queensland), I wasn’t getting the results that the technician expected.

    It took several hours at the exchange, the mux down the street and the pit outside my house but he ran the problem down. After that, I asked if he would mind installing another phone point in the house, which he did in a snap. While he was doing that, he noticed that the wiring in the house was looking worst for wear (~20 yr old), so he rewired everything from the street into the phone points.

    Needless to say, I had now had fantastic phone quality and the ADSL never missed a beat. In the end, I paid for the normal ADSL installation and a new phone point but he didn’t charge me for the leg work involved in rewiring the phone lines. For going above and beyond (at least in my eyes), I happily bought the bloke a carton of his favourite beer.

    Al.

  2. Mitch Denny Post author

    Hi Alistair,

    Seems like sub-standard in-house cabling could be a common problem. Although I am not sure if it is the cause for instant knock backs. I’ve had some good conversations with Telstra Country Wide today about the issue so I am hopeful that a solution can be found in my case.

  3. lb

    for the first time in a long time, my telstra shares have climbed above the price i paid for them.

    hence, i’m getting a very bad feeling…. what more proof can there be that the market is over-inflated??

    sell!! SELL!!

  4. Mitch Denny Post author

    I am actually thinking that the market expects Telstra to really start being the tiger. There are lots of problems with the configuration of the market at the moment with regards to Telstra having a monopoly position but not being allowed to do the things that the monopoly decision demands.

    We are kind of in gridlock.

Leave a Reply

