Goals 2007

Before Christmas I was having a conversation with Darren Nemkie about how he is looking at his goals for the next twelve months and through the discussion it became clear that I hadn’t been operating under a clearly defined set of goals for the past twelve months and I agreed that it would be a shame to coast along and do the same this year – so thanks to Darren for kicking me off on this goal setting journey. This post is all about the high level goals that I have set for myself this year and a little about the process I used to reach them.

Vision Setting

In the grand scheme of things a year is a very short period of time and if I just set years on a year-by-year basis I would run the risk of coast over a lifetime just as much as I coast over the course of a year. To help stop me doing that I decided that I needed to set myself a vision where I wanted to be in the future. I started by defining a simple vision twenty years out, then ten years, then five.

The idea is that the five and ten year visions represent realistic stepping stones to the twenty year vision and four years of of consecutive goal planning should get me to the first five year vision.

I won’t go into particulars but the visions outline briefly where I expect to be from a personal, financial and career perspective.

Goal Setting

With my visions set I was free to sit down and set some high level but specific goals for this year. Under each of the goals I’ve put down some sample actions that I’ll be trying to stick to (funny how the personal goals seem more like new years resolutions).

  • Personal and Family Goals for 2007
    • Lose weight and get healthier.
      • Go for a walk each day.
      • Go to bed earlier and wake up earlier.
      • Drink less coffee and tea (no more than 2 cups).
      • Eat a big breakfast and a light lunch.
    • Set aside more time just for myself.
      • Go swimming at least once a week.
      • Go to a cafe and read a book.
      • Record my thoughts when I take my walks.
    • Set aside time just for Nicola and I.
      • Go out together at least once a month.
    • Set aside time for the whole family.
      • Do more family activities on the weekend.
      • Go camping at least once every two months.
      • Get Bella involved in some weekend sports.
      • Get more involved in Bella day to day life.
    • Finalise unfinished business from 2006.
      • UPlift Project from TechEd
    • Take real holidays.
      • Don’t waste holidays in front of the laptop.
      • Set dates.
  • Financial Goals for 2007
    • Aggressively reduce the amount of negative debt we are carrying (that is debt that doesn’t earn a return).
      • Pay off one of the loans completely.
    • Increase the amount of positive debt we are carrying (that is debt that earns us value over time).
      • Arrange so that I derive financial benefit from one or more of the projects that I work on this year.
      • Take the first steps towards home ownership.
  • Career Goals for 2007
    • Work on getting two ventures up and running.
      • Take a leadership role in at least one venture.
      • Have a personal stake in at least one venture.
    • Actively seek customers who are doing exiting things with emerging technologies.
      • Directly approach customers with joint venture ideas using prototypes and designs as conversation starters.
    • Strengthen my network of contacts within Australia and Overseas across technical, business and academic disciplines.
      • Get in contact with people I have worked with in the past and let them know what I am up to and find out what they are doing.
    • Get more experienced at the business side of running a technology company.

That is a lot of stuff to stay focused on but there are some central themes there so I can kill a lot of birds with one stone. When I went for my walk today I started building out lists of tasks to support the goals and actions. I’m looking forward to the end of the year when I get to see how I went – its kind of like an annual Scrum meeting with myself🙂

The good thing is by putting this stuff up here on my blog it increases the pressure but it also gives me a place that I can point people to when they question what I am doing or how I am behaving – but it also enables them to take me to task if I am not following through with what I have laid out here.

 

6 thoughts on “Goals 2007

  1. Darren Neimke

    Nice stuff Mitch. For the financial items I’d strongly recommend getting a financial advisor. I have a great relationship with our financial advisor in Adelaide. Each year we sit down and do a retrospective, review the current position, and adjust the 3 year forecast. If nothing else, it’s great just to have somebody to “keep you honest” with your finances.

  2. Fred Pugsley

    Good for you, Mitch. I particularly applaud the health stuff. It’s absolutely essential.

    For me, between 30 and 35 years old, my metabolism seemed to switch from “young” to “middle-aged”. Between 36 and 42, I put on over 30kg by becoming a workaholic restaurant-junkie. Next month I turn 46. It’s taken nearly 4 years and a massive change of lifestyle to get back to where I was 10 years ago.

    The time thing is the key to meeting all objectives. Get in touch and I’ll give you a few tips…

  3. Pingback: 2007: A Year in Review « notgartner

  4. Pingback: Goals 2008 « notgartner

  5. Matthew Lloyd Goals

    Great topic, Mitch.

    From my point of view, goals are great. It’s personally motivating to see other people get goals as well as achieving them myself and I love seeing people get goals.

    I keep my goals in my room with a copy on my refrigerator door so I see them 2 times before I leave the house.

Leave a Reply

