Thank-you John Backus…

Paul Stovell sent around an e-mail a day or so ago about John Backus’ passing at the age of 82. I’ll leave it as an exercise to the reader to read that link but I’d like to send out a thank-you to John Backus who’s language influenced so many of the languages that I have worked on (I’ve only ever played with Fortran myself).

If you are a .NET developer you could pay hommage by writing a Fortran program to run on top of .NET! Here is one:

program hello

    print *,”Good-bye John Backus!”

end program hello

2 thoughts on “Thank-you John Backus…

  1. Dave

    As was mentioned on a mailing list I read: “The funeral was a simple and functional one.”

Leave a Reply

