What am I going to do in the next 6 months to be a better developer?

Looks like I just got tagged by Daniel Moth. The meme that is being spread is about what I am going to do over the next 6 months to be a better developer. Hrm, interesting.

I must admit that I’ve been struggling to find a new passion over the past twelve months. The work that I’ve been doing with Team Foundation Server has been pretty much all consuming.

As I’ve started to surface from this self imposed exile to “tools land” I’m finding that my thoughts are turning to the users of the software that we create as I try to understand their motivations and how we can design software that meets their needs.

In my next six months as a developer I am going to keep up to date on the latest around of Microsoft developer technologies but I am going to change how I apply them such that the maximum benefit can be realised for the end users. In other words I’m going to be less concerned with architectural purity and more concerned with listening to the people that matter most!

So – who am I going to tag:

You’re it!

7 thoughts on “What am I going to do in the next 6 months to be a better developer?

  1. Pingback: My World : What am I going to do in the next 6 months to be a better developer?

  2. umesh and raja

    I m going to do experiments on lots of Codes given by different experts in dot.Net .
    Only one thing one can do to be a good developer ie lots of practice. Only practice can make a man perfect.

  3. umesh

    I m going to do experiments on lots of Codes given by different experts in dot.Net . Only one thing one can do to be a good developer ie lots of practice. Only practice can make a man perfect

  4. Pingback: PaulStovell.NET » Niche Langplatworks

  5. Mitch Wheat

    Do you have any control over the Ads you serve up? Just got this one from Google ads in relation to this post:

    Who Has a Crush on You?
    Calculate their Exact Name Now. Its Scary How Accurate It Is!
    yourdestinyrevealed.net

    Not sure that adds much value to a software development. Do you stand behind the ads your site endorses? You don’t strike me as the sort of person who would believe in bullshit numerology!

  6. Mitch Denny Post author

    Hi Mitch,

    Actually the ads only occasionally appear on the blog, and it is done by the hosting provider – I have no control over them, and since it is a free service I try not to complain too much🙂

    So – did you calculate who has a crush on you?😛

Leave a Reply

