Where am I at with things…

  1. Twitter offline (sporadically).
  2. E-mail appears to be start/stop, but this could be caused by Office Communicator weirdness.
  3. Not enough bandwidth to play YouTube music videos (but still just enough for POP3 spam to arrive – does SPAM get a higher QOS or something?).

Anyway – here is what I am trying to achieve for today/tomorrow:

  1. Resolve the issue on TFSNow/D0001 instance.
  2. Follow up on rollback implementation for build virtualizer.
  3. Talk to Chris about future plans for TFS Integrator/Deployer.
  4. Finish off Q2.
  5. Added: Figure out how to get VS2008 solution files building with Team Build 2005/MSBuild 1.0.

D0001 is the Readify TFS Now instance and we observed an error. We aren’t sure why it started happening but was fixed along with another related issue so I can cross that one off for now (will revisit I am sure).

The build virtualizer is a piece of technology that we use inside TFS Now. It is functioning right now be we are still adding little features to it here and there so I need to follow up with Paul Stovell on that.

Perhaps the most exciting news is that Chris Burrows and I are again looking at features for TFS Integrator and TFS Deployer. Hopefully we can catch up tomorrow to talk about it and lay out a bit of a product road map.

Q2 is one of my pet projects. I have a Team Project inside our TFS Now instance called Q. I’m a bit of a James Bond fan, and in particular I love the role that Q plays. The idea for the Q team project is that it will have a number of numbered sub-projects (Q1, Q2, etc) which solve a specific problem that I’ve identified. Necessity is the mother of invention so everything that is in there should have some underlying need.

Finally, I was talking on the phone with Darren Neimke last night who was lamenting the fact that it isn’t possible to build .NET 3.5 projects from VS2008 under Team Build 2005.

Leave a Reply

