TSA and Lithium Batteries

Correction: You may carry the batteries on as carry on luggage, but not as checked luggage. The text has been corrected below.


I just stumbled upon this article on Slashdot that points out some new rules from the TSA (I’m an Australian living in Australia so it doesn’t impact me until I travel into the US) about how many lithium batteries that you can take on a plane as hand checked luggage.

There seems to be some confusion about what capacity/weight ratio the restriction kicks in at and there is some mild outrage from what a probably geeks carrying large amounts of devices (I count myself in that number). That said, I doubt that the new rule is that onerous except where it is executed by individuals with insufficient training.

Last year I posted about the impact of the Dell/Apple/other battery recall on the travelling public – well, at least how it impacted me🙂

One thought on “TSA and Lithium Batteries

  1. Nic Wise

    Wouldn’t it be ironic if the airlines allow cellphones to be used on planes (please no!) but no lithium batteries….. kinda kills all the crackberries (and WM phones) in one go🙂

Leave a Reply

