Four way stop signs.

StopSign One of the things that I’ve been meaning to write about whilst driving here in the U.S. is the existence of four way stop signs. These are roads where you have two roads intersecting each other and all four entrances into the intersection have a stop sign.

To be honest I’ve been a bit confused about who gives way to who when there are two or more cars at the intersection. Just doing a search now I found this post by Lionel E. Deimel which explained it – but as he points out, there are some holes in the strategy.

So basically if I arrive at the intersection first, then I get to go first. If I’m not I have to give way to the left – except when it gets messy, and then it is all about SURVIVAL🙂

Seriously though – I think we have way more round-abouts in Australia to stop exactly this problem. So when you have four equal streams of traffic coming together you are going to either get lights, or a round-about, not four stop signs (in fact, I can’t think of anywhere that I have been in Australia that has four stop signs).

5 thoughts on “Four way stop signs.

  1. Chris

    There’s one I’ve come across in Australia! It’s in Artarmon, on the lower North Shore (Sydney).

    And yes, they’re very confusing!

  2. Will

    I’m not sure if they’re still there, but in the suburbs of Newcastle (Cooks Hill / The Junction) there were heaps of them.

    Then again, this was back in 1990 (right around the Newcastle Earthquake), I don’t remember whether they were still there last time I walked / drove through that area.

  3. Pingback: Driving in the USA for Australians « Grant Holliday

  4. Pingback: Waxalyrical's Blog

  5. Pingback: Stop sign dilemma « Waxalyrical's Blog

Leave a Reply

