The day a program becomes self aware is the day that I’ll be able to fly.

I do a lot of thinking about artificial intelligence, machine learning, and genetic programming. I find the whole area intensely fascinating. There are some great videos on YouTube about how they have created virtual environments in which programs can exist and evolve in a short period of time by concisely defining the natural selection criteria.

Ultimately however, the computer programs wouldn’t be able to escape the confines of their simulation because the runtime they exist in doesn’t have hooks for them to do it. I do wonder then if humanity itself, or perhaps our entire universe is just some grand computer simulation and someone out there is looking at replays of us on a godly version of YouTube. Maybe we are simulations within simulations?

ComputerSelfAwareness

The whole thing is vaguely reminiscent of the “Turtles all the way down” quote and the infinite regression interpretation.

So – why will I be able to fly when a program breaks out of its runtime? Well simply because I’ll observe how it did it then do the same then give myself wings🙂

4 thoughts on “The day a program becomes self aware is the day that I’ll be able to fly.

  1. Alex G

    What makes you think you’d be able to repeat the steps to give yourself wings? btw… the 13th floor is a pretty nice flick on the subject of simulations🙂

  2. Michael Brown

    I was going to say the same about the Thirteenth Floor. I think it might have taken inspiration from an episode of Star Trek TNG where Data asked the holodeck to create an adversary that was capable of beating him. Another comparison would be to the Matrix. I’m glad that I’m not the only person who wonders if we’re just avatars in a virtual world.

Leave a Reply

