The error code is 2738.

If you get this error message on Windows Vista don’t panic. This post documents how I fixed it with one setup package that I was dealing with, but it might work with yours as well (this is a general problem with some installers).

Yesterday I was trying to install the PowerTools for Visual Studio Team System 2008 Database Edition (what a mouthful). This is a set of tools that extend the Database Edition of Visual Studio, and I was specifically interested in the MSBuild extensions for doing schema comparisons.

Unfortunately, when I attempted to install the package on my Windows Vista 64-bit machine I got the following error:

“The installer has encountered an unexpected error installing this package. This may indicate a problem with this package. The error code is 2738.”

Bummer! My heart sank because I really needed those components and I was worried that I might be seeing some weird 64-bit Vista issue with the way that the setup package had been built – but as I found out, this also effects 32-bit installations as well.

To diagnose the problem I ran the setup package again, but this time I used the MSIEXEC command-line interface to tell it to provide some verbose logging details:

MSIEXEC /i VSTSDB2008PT.MSI /lv LOG.TXT

This executes the setup package as normal, but it takes all the output generated by Windows Installer for diagnostic purposes and stuffs it into a file called LOG.TXT. These files can sometimes be quite large but I found this error (in red) buried away towards the end of the file.

Action start 22:19:04: INSTALL.
MSI (s) (D0:14) [22:19:04:442]: Running ExecuteSequence
MSI (s) (D0:14) [22:19:04:442]: Doing action: DevEnvProcessCheck
MSI (s) (D0:14) [22:19:04:442]: Note: 1: 2205 2:  3: ActionText
Action start 22:19:04: DevEnvProcessCheck.
MSI (s) (D0:DC) [22:19:04:445]: Generating random cookie.
MSI (s) (D0:DC) [22:19:04:452]: Created Custom Action Server with PID 13584 (0x3510).
MSI (s) (D0:D4) [22:19:06:320]: Running as a service.
MSI (s) (D0:D4) [22:19:06:322]: Hello, I’m your 32bit Impersonated custom action server.
MSI (s) (D0:60) [22:19:06:324]: Note: 1: 2205 2:  3: Error
MSI (s) (D0:60) [22:19:06:324]: Note: 1: 2228 2:  3: Error 4: SELECT `Message` FROM `Error` WHERE `Error` = 2738
DEBUG: Error 2738:  Could not access VBScript runtime for custom action
MSI (s) (D0:60) [22:19:07:725]: Note: 1: 2205 2:  3: Error
MSI (s) (D0:60) [22:19:07:725]: Note: 1: 2228 2:  3: Error 4: SELECT `Message` FROM `Error` WHERE `Error` = 1709
MSI (s) (D0:60) [22:19:07:725]: Product: Visual Studio Team System 2008 Database Edition – Power Tools — The installer has encountered an unexpected error installing this package. This may indicate a problem with this package. The error code is 2738. The arguments are: , ,

It looked like some kind of security issue to me, but I decided to search of the text via Google where I came across this link on the MSDN forums. The advice they give is that VBScript isn’t registered by default under Vista. The solution is to perform the following operation in ‘C:\WINDOWS\system32’ at the command-prompt:

REGSVR32.EXE VBSCRIPT.DLL

Once that is done you should get a dialog saying that the DLL was registered successfully. If you are using Windows Vista 64-bit you aren’t done yet. You then need to change into the ‘C:\WINDOWS\SysWOW64’ and issue the same command from above again. This solved the installation problem for me and it went through normally.

I’m post this up here because I think if someone else experiences the same problem then finding this on Google might save some time.

Note: I am not sure if VBScript is unregistered for a reason – perhaps security, so if that is the case you might like to unregister VBScript again afterwards.

27 thoughts on “The error code is 2738.

  1. Pingback: Team System News : VSTS Links - 07/18/2008

  2. Thomas Alex

    Thanks for your post, I got the same error installing SQL Server 2008 sample dbs – AdventureWorks. This was on a 32-bit Vista Enterprise box.
    Registering vbscript fixed it.

  3. Narayana

    I also had the same problem while installing AdventureWorks for SQL Server 2008, on Vista 32 bit EnterpriseEdition. This resolved it🙂 Thanks!

  4. Greenville IT Support

    Thanks so much for the useful post. I had found at least a dozen that talked about the standard regsvr32 command, but yours was the first that mentioned also doing the command in the ‘C:\WINDOWS\SysWOW64’ folder, and yours, or course, was the first to solve my problem.

    Thanks.

    Thanks.

    Thanks.

  5. Treuland

    I have had problem installing vzaccess manager software for Verizon usb modem. I registered vbscript32.dll and got message it was successful. But- it still won’t install. Do I have to reboot or something? I am running Windows 7 64 bit and did use syswow64 also. It looks like it is registered in HKLM as it should I think? Am frustrated! Any suggestions?
    Terry

  6. Mike

    Didn’t work. Said VBS was registered successfully but program still gives me the 2738 error when I try and install. I even ran MSFT Fixit utility for this error and the the progam EMET 2.1 won’t install. It installed fine on my W7 x64 computers but nothing on on my x32. Even though I had EMET 2.0 installed on my x32 computer.

    Better luck next time

  7. godspeedyoublackemperor

    Didn’t work for me either. I ran the command on sys32, on syswow64 on a user account (no admin) with console with administrator privileges. Both gave me a successful reply, but the installer didn’t work. Then I ran those commands and the installer with an administrator account and it worked.

  8. Pingback: How to resolve Error 2738 while Installing Lipikaar on Windows Vista | Lipikaar Help Center

  9. Blog

    I do not even know the way I finished up right here, however I believed this submit was once great. I don’t recognize who you might be but certainly you are going to a well-known blogger in the event you aren’t already. Cheers!

  10. JeroenP

    Fantastic! Your solution solves my installation problem of the EBSCO audiobook downloader.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

