Nearly Sucked In

Recently I purchased in item for my Windows Media Centre which would allow me to expose SPDIF output so that I could feed it into a 5.1 sound system and get the full surround experience (note, I’m not an AV geek my any stretch). Anyway, I had trouble finding one from the motherboard manufacturer so I ended up purchasing one on eBay that looked like it would be compatible.

I’m probably what you would call an annoying eBay customer because I don’t use it often and I don’t really understand the etiquette around rating sellers in a certain time frame. Since I’ve been travelling (surprise surprise) I haven’t had the time to tear down the case and plug the component in so I’ve held back from rating the seller, although they did ship the component very quickly which I was impressed by.

Anyway – a few days ago I received an e-mail that looked like it was from eBay that said someone had started a dispute with me. Not thinking I clicked on the link expecting the seller to suggest that I hadn’t given any feedback. The page returned an error (no server).

I thought that was odd and decided that my mobile Internet connection must be flakey, sometimes it does that, but since I was busy I parked it and came back to it this morning. So here I am sitting in the foyer of the hotel on my wireless connection again and I click the link – same problem.

Then it dawned on me that an e-mail had made it past my usual spam filters and the site I was going to was a phishing scam – bastards! And I almost fell for it. I’m usually pretty careful but it just shows how effective a phishing scheme that is relevant to the activities of a particular user can be. I normally pick these things up because I’m not usually an eBay user, but this one time I clicked because I half expected some feedback.

You’ve gotta be so careful…

4 thoughts on “Nearly Sucked In

  1. Andrew Parsons

    whoa – and imagine if the link had taken you to a spoofed site and you’d logged in… open to all kinds of mischief. At least you use unique passwords on every site… most users wouldn’t have a password bank either.

  2. Mitch Denny Post author

    Yeah – I wouldn’t even know what my eBay password is…. so hopefully in the process of logging into my password bank I’d realise what was happening. If I integrated my password bank with eBay it would have been even more obvious, although I didn’t bother (hardly ever do).

    Fortunately stealing my eBay identity wouldn’t have done the phisher much good, there isn’t exactly a history they can trade on🙂

  3. Dave

    I got one supposedly from PayPal on Monday, but it was to an email address not associated with PayPal. I looked at the URL they wanted me to click, and it seemed like it was tacked onto a legitimate business. I called them to give them a heads-up, and sent the info by email to them. They didn’t respond in a reasonable amount of time, so I turned them into PayPal.

    Their site was down for about a day, but is back. So that means the company itself was not involved in it… just whoever they hired for their IT work.

    As you said: Bastards!

    -Dave

  4. Wile1one

    I reckon all the internet crooks should be rounded up …. then have their phone numbers scammed and handed out to telemarketers… and made to answer the phone calls…

    Then I reckon the cost of the calls should be billed against the scammers bank accounts… and finally they should be locked up in the tower of babel… just before it collapses around them… realising too late that they got their wish for riches but could not understand it was given to them…

    Nah just shoot em and be done with it.

Leave a Reply

