Egypt Trip Post #4

It has taken me a little bit longer to get this post out than I would have liked. I only managed to find a wired connection at the BUE yesterday and was busy going through the preparation for my talk.

So far I’ve been having a great time and I’ve met lots of great people. The event started late yesterday due to a few logistical issues but the turn out was fantastic (uploading some photos now). On the way out to the venue we were actually caught in a sandstorm. Mahmoud Ghoz is one of the co-organisers of the event and pointed out that the whether was a little unusual but I kind of liked the experience anyway.

Travelling in traffic in Cairo is an experience that I would recommend to everyone. It is complete chaos as people cut and weave in and out of lanes (lane lines are more of a suggestion). The notable absence of traffic lights is interesting. Often you will pull out onto a road and go for a few hundred meters before doing a U-turn because it is easier and has less impact on the flow of traffic (kind of like water flowing through pipes). In some ways it makes a lot of sense to me.

Tomorrow after the event we are heading out to the Pyramids so I should get some good photos out there. I am looking forward to it. My session is first up this morning so I had better make sure that all the libraries I need are on this machine. Salaam.

One thought on “Egypt Trip Post #4

Leave a Reply

