Converting people to Windows 7 one MacBook at a time.

Yesterday I was sitting in the lobby of the hotel waiting for my ride to a client meeting. A MacBook user walked up to me an commented on the slightly different power adapter on my MacBook Air (as compared to say a MacBook Pro). We talked about the relative performance of a few of the different models and then I mentioned that I was actually running Windows 7.

A lot of people aren’t even aware that Windows 7 is on its way. I ended up having a bit of a conversation about how Windows 7 runs very well on my MacBook Air – much better than Vista.

Overall I think the feel around Windows 7 is very positive in the technical community and I think with that Microsoft is going to be very successful with this new release. Vista got such a bad name so early that it was impossible to recover from and as much as people despised Vista, their XP environments are starting to get a bit long in the tooth.

Besides – if you are a Mac OS X user, Windows 7 is much more interesting than Apple’s latest offering. Their latest marketing material reads like a bunch of “mediocre and proud of it” statements.

3 thoughts on “Converting people to Windows 7 one MacBook at a time.

  1. Vee

    Just wondering how are you finding running Windows 7 + VS 08 on your macbook air with 2GB of ram ?

    I’m considering macbook air due to the light weight though the ram limitation is a concern. Unless I stick a ready boost compatible usb stick, don’t know if it will make a difference.

  2. Doug

    Hey silky,

    My mac book air runs 7 with 2gb of ram perfectly.

    I run VS 2008/2010, SVN, and all the other gadgets required to do win forms/web dev.

    the thing that makes my machine a killer is the fact i replaced the drive with an intel x25-m 160gb ssd.

    once you have one of these bad boys you realise that cpu cycles and ram are not the only end game when using VS as its so hdd heavy…

    the thing flys and gets me even more battery life as well.

Leave a Reply

