Lync with Windows 8.1 and Internet Explorer 11

I’ve been using Windows 8.1 preview as my day-to-day environment for a good 3-4 weeks now and in general everything is working extremely well. One of the problems that did crop up however that has been impacting me is participating in Lync meetings with customers and partners from other organisations.

The problem I experience is when clicking a meeting Lync, instead of launching the desktop Lync client I get routed to the Lync web-client login page. The web client is okay but I prefer the desktop client and it has a few extra features which I find quite useful.

LyncWebClient

 

It appears that the code behind the meeting link is doing some browser detection, not recognising IE11 as a compatible browser for the desktop client launch mechanism and then falling back to the web experience.

To work around the issue I pressed F12 to bring up the new IE developer tools. On the emulation tab (look on the left hand side down the bottom of the panel), change the user agent string to Internet Explorer 10. As soon as you’ve done this the page should refresh and the Lync desktop client will get launched.

LyncWebClientUserAgentHack

 

I’m pretty sure that this will get fixed soon either as a compat update to IE, or as a patch to Lync. Hope this helps you in the meantime!

3 thoughts on “Lync with Windows 8.1 and Internet Explorer 11

  1. todolordbyron

    Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your article seem
    to be running off the screen in Internet explorer.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.

    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon.
    Cheers

  2. MMC

    Thank you for this – I am having a similar problem where when I try to join an online mtg it launches in IE, but then never launches my Lync – it essentially gets stuck there, but I don’t have the option to join via the web version of lync or anything. I tried my work tech ppl (As this is a work beta computer) and they were stumped. The above worked for me by changing it to IE 8 (vs 10). Its a pain to do this for every mtg, so might try to see if the tech folks can now do something based on this feedback. If you find a patch or update, please advise as have tried reinstalling lync and updates several times to no avail….

Leave a Reply

